Shumlin announces Karen Marshall to lead Connect VT effort

first_imgGovernor Peter Shumlin today announced that Karen Marshall, a Chittenden County business executive and community leader, will take the position of Chief of Connect VT. Marshall will be responsible for implementing Gov. Shumlin’s plan to achieve universal availability of broadband and mobile phone service.‘Connect VT is one of the most important initiatives of my administration,’ the Governor said. ‘It is vital that the telecommunication highway is in place for Vermonters by the end of 2013. It will connect our economic engines to the global marketplace, and enable our health care providers to be at the forefront of innovative, cost effective delivery and administration of health care.’‘Karen will work with private sector companies and utilities that are deploying roughly $410 million of federal funding and their own capital to do this,’ said Administration Secretary Jeb Spaulding. ‘She will also be engaged in efforts across state government to use broadband to improve the way that public services are delivered.’Prior to this appointment, Marshall served as Chief Operating Officer at SecurShred, a Vermont owned and operated business providing confidential document shredding, imaging, storage and electronic waste services throughout the region. Prior to that, she served as Vice President Northern New England for Comcast Spotlight, the advertising division of Comcast Cable, and Vice President/Vermont for Clear Channel Communications, where she managed 15 radio stations.Marshall has played an active role in community service, as well, serving currently as Chair of the Vermont Economic Progress Council, a board member of the Visiting Nurse Association of Chittenden and Grand Isle counties, the Lake Champlain Regional Chamber of Commerce, and UVM’s Athletic Advisory Council.Marshall, who lives in Williston, will join the Agency of Administration. Her salary will be $115,000.Shumlin’s office. 1.27.2011last_img read more

Coronavirus vaccine should be mandatory in Australia: PM

first_imgThe country already has “no jab, no play” rules that mean kids have to receive vaccines for diseases including polio and tetanus to enroll in kindergarten or school.But debate still rages about whether those rules impinge on personal freedoms, and hardline anti-vaxers flood online forums with conspiracy theories and misinformation about the risks.The coronavirus pandemic — which has killed more than 400 Australians — has coincided with a sharp uptick in online misinformation, speculation and opposition to vaccines — something experts have dubbed an “infodemic”. No effective vaccine for coronavirus has yet been released, although Morrison said he was optimistic one could be developed by early next year, with manufacturing taking just a few months more.”As soon as we get the recipe we’ll be making it,” he said. Anticipating a backlash from vocal anti-vaccine activists, Morrison said the stakes were too high to allow the disease to continue unchecked.”We’re talking about a pandemic that has destroyed the global economy and taken the lives of hundreds of thousands all around the world,” he said, while stressing the government has not yet made a decision.The Australian government estimates that up to 95 percent of the population would need to be immune to the virus for it to be eradicated.”We need the most extensive and comprehensive response to this to get Australia back to normal,” Morrison said, after announcing the vaccine would be free to all Australians. Australia should make any coronavirus vaccine compulsory for its 25 million citizens bar medical exemptions, Prime Minister Scott Morrison said Wednesday, wading into a heated ethical debate.After reaching a deal for the country to manufacture a “promising” vaccine being developed by AstraZeneca and Oxford University, Morrison said getting the jab should be “as mandatory as you can possibly make it”.”There are always exemptions for any vaccine on medical grounds, but that should be the only basis,” he told radio station 3AW in Melbourne.center_img Topics :last_img read more

Tipp Hurling and Football teams named for this weekend

first_imgAs the Tipperary senior hurlers head to Croke Park on Sunday next, March 25th to play Dublin in their re-arranged Allianz Hurling League Quarter-Final at 1pm, manager Michael Ryan has announced his side. There are two changes from the starting XV named for last week’s postponed fixture with Paudie Feehan (Killenaule) and John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) both lining out this Sunday.Therefore the Tipperary team is as follows;  1. Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha2. Alan Flynn – Kiladangan3. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane4. Michael Cahill – Thurles Sarsfields5. Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg6. Padraic Maher (Capt.) – Thurles Sarsfields7. Paudie Feehan – Killenaule8. Séamus Kennedy – St. Mary’s Clonmel9. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields10. Seán Curran – Mullinahone11. Billy McCarthy – Thurles Sarsfields12. John McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney13. Michael Breen – Ballina14. Jason Forde – Silvermines15. Cian Darcy – Kilruane MacDonaghsSubs:16. Paul Maher – Moyne-Templetuohy17. Ger Browne – Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams18. Willie Connors – Kiladangan19. Tom Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill20. Tomás Hamill – Moyne-Templetuohy21. Donagh Maher – Burgess22. Paul Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash23. Eoin McIntyre – Lorrha-Dorrha24. John O’Dwyer – Killenaule25. Dillon Quirke – Clonoulty-Rossmore26. Paul Shanahan – Upperchurch-DrombaneElsewhere, the Tipperary footballers travel to Kingspan Breffni where they will take on home side Cavan in Round 7 of the Allianz Football League Division 2 which has a 3pm throw-in. Manager Liam Kearns has named the same side as that announced for last weekend’s postponed round 6 fixture.The football team lines out as follows;  1. Ciarán Kenrick – Moyle Rovers2. Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers3. Paddy Codd – Killenaule 4. John Meagher – Loughmore-Castleiney5. Bill Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash6. Robbie Kiely (Capt.) – Carbery Rangers7. Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule8. Steven O’Brien – Ballina9. Liam Casey – Cahir10. Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle11. Jason Lonergan – Clonmel Commercials12. Brian Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill 13. Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen 14. Michael Quinlivan – Clonmel Commercials15. Liam McGrath – Loughmore-CastleineySubs.16. Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan-Kilcash17. Kevin Fahey – Clonmel Commercials18. George Hannigan – Shannon Rovers19. Liam Boland – Moyle Rovers20. Emmet Moloney – Drom & Inch21. Jack Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials22. Kevin O’Halloran – Portroe23. Ian Fahey – Clonmel Commercials24. Liam Treacy – Loughmore-Castleiney25. Colm O’Shaughnessy – Ardfinnan26. Stephen Murray – Burgesslast_img read more